Daylight Savings Time Ends – A Little History

November 7, 2021 All day

A Little History: Daylight Saving (also known as Daylight Saving Time and previously known as ‘Fast Time’ in the United States) is the practice of setting the clocks forward one hour from standard time during the warmer parts of the year (usually summer months), and back again in the colder parts (usually fall), in order to make better use of natural daylight so that evenings have more daylight and mornings have less.

In the United States, daylight saving was first introduced in 1918 when President Woodrow Wilson signed it into law to support the war effort during World War I. The initiative was generated by Robert Garland, a Pittsburgh industrialist who had encountered the idea in the UK. Today he is often called the “Father of Daylight Saving”. Only seven months, later the seasonal time change was repealed. However, some cities, including Pittsburgh, Boston, and New York, continued to use it until President Franklin D. Roosevelt officially instituted year-round recurring daylight saving in the United States in 1942.

From 1945 to 1966 there were no uniform rules for Daylight Saving in the US and it caused widespread confusion especially for trains, buses, and the broadcasting industry. As a result, the Uniform Time Act of 1966 was established. It stated that DST would begin on the last Sunday of April and end on the last Sunday of October. However, states still had the ability to be exempt from Daylight Saving by passing a state ordinance. In 1974 and eight months in 1975, the United States Congress extended Daylight Saving to a period of ten months, in hopes to save energy following the 1973 oil embargo. The trial period showed that energy equivalent of 10,000 barrels of oil each day were saved, but Daylight Saving still remained to be controversial. Many complained that the dark winter mornings endangered the lives of children going to school.

After the energy crisis was over in 1976, the Daylight Saving schedule in the US was revised several times throughout the years. From 1987 to 2006, the United States observed Daylight Saving for about seven months each year. The current schedule was introduced in 2007 and follows the Energy Policy Act of 2005, which extended the period by about one month. Today, Daylight Saving starts on the second Sunday in March and ends on the first Sunday in November.


Go Top